Ohio Fair Racing Conference announces champions for 2020

Grove City, OH — Sweet Oliver was the top point earning Standardbred during the 2020 Ohio Fair Racing Conference season.

The 3-year-old colt pacer by Three Olives out of Sugar Biscuit was a winner eight times at OFRC fairs earning 487 points. Sweet Oliver was followed by the 3-year-old gelding trotter Timestorm (Stormin Normand–Tymal Sonata) with 453 points. Timestorm was also an eight-time winner on the circuit.

The third eight-time winner in the OFRC was 2-year-old trotting filly Designer Specs. The Full Count–Avalon Hall miss is a perfect 13 for 13 overall this season.

The Ohio Fair Racing Conference races at 21 county fairs across the state of Ohio. OFRC Coordinator Bill Peters says despite COVID-19, it was a great year of racing in the OFRC.

“Several adjustments were made at the fairs in the Ohio Fair Racing Conference to abide by the pandemic protocols. Most of the horsemen and the race officials adapted well to the changes, and the season went relatively well.”

The top driver on the circuit this year was Cam McCown. He collected 27 wins this year, winning the title for the fourth straight year.

The top trainer was Chris Beaver as he sent 21 horses to the winner’s circle. Beaver also won the title in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

2020 Champions
Two-Year-Old Colt Pace Champion–Rock N Republic; Runner-up–Rally Your Crew
Two-Year-Old Colt Trot Champion–Omyheart; Runner-up–PC’s Cruiser
Two-Year-Old Filly Pace Champion–Feverslastcruise; Runner-up–Sister Said
Two-Year-Old Filly Trot Champion–Designer Specs; Runner-up–Wishful Mar
Three-Year-Old Colt Pace Champion–Sweet Oliver; Runner-up–Chris Will See
Three-Year-Old Colt Trot Champion–Timestorm*; Runner-up–Trottin For Cash
Three-Year-Old Filly Pace Champion–Tiny Bit Of Sky*; Runner-up–Bad Ms Johnson
Three-Year-Old Filly Trot Champion–Electric Ridge; Runner-up–Cell Service
*Repeat Champion

Back to Top

Share via