Minnesota Harness Racing 2020 divisional winners announced

Columbus, MN — Minnesota Harness Racing, Inc. has announced the divisional winners from the 2020 racing season.

Due to the ongoing global pandemic, the MHRI annual meeting and awards banquet (which is normally held in late February), was canceled for this year. The physical awards/trophies will be distributed to the 2020 divisional winners very soon.

Here is the complete list of award winners for the 2020 Minnesota Harness racing season (with owners):

2-year-old Filly Trot
Champion-The Royal Queen (Justin Anfinson) — Runner-Up-It’s So Fluffy (Kennedy Roland)

2-year-old Colt Trot
Champion-Rush To The Bank (Jeralene Roland and Vickie Rush) — Runner-Up-Oh Danny Boy (Alexia Kehl)

2-year-old Filly Pace
Champion-Shes A Showstopper (Van Oterloo Stables) — Runner-Up-May Day Maggie (Rick Huffman and Larry Mather)

2-year-old Colt Pace
Champion-Twilight Sunset (Dr. Kenneth and Jana Rucker) — Runner-Up-Alilthundadownunda (Set The Pace Racing)

3-year-old Filly Trot
Champion-Teachmehowtotory (Set the Pace Racing) — Runner-Up-Double My Decker (Jesse, Ben and Eric De Long)

3-year-old Colt Trot
Champion-Hearduwhispermynam (Jenni King) — Runner-Up-Al Mar Spicey Talk (Joshua and Katie Horvat)

3-year-old Filly Pace
Champion-Its Pacific Time (John Hendricks) — Runner-Up-Huftalookatdatfany (Van Oterloo Stables)

3-year-old Colt Pace
Champion-Bunkerhill Phil (Gene Miller) — Runner-Up-Its A Marcs World (Duane and Roger Roland)

Older Mare Trot
Champion-Twilight Tinker (Cathy Dessert) — Runner-Up-Al Mar Reba Babe (Rick Davis)

Older Male Trot
Champion-Ice Storm (Larry Jenson) — Runner-Up-Mr Jackpot (Marlene and Jody Wilson)

Older Mare Pace
Champion-Sweet Vivian (Timothy Lems) — Runner-Up-Lakota Law (Trowshu Racing)

Older Male Pace
Champion-SB Bodacious (Rick Magee) — Runner-Up (tie)-Stuckey Dote (Merlin Van Oterloo) and He Grins Again (George Reider and Dave Haness)

In addition to the divisional winners at Running Aces, MHRI also announced the Minnesota county fair award winners for 2020. They are as follows:

County Fair Trainer of the Year-Justin Anfinson
County Fair Driver of the Year-Rick Magee
County Fair Pacer of the Year-SB Bodacious (Rick Magee)
County Fair Trotter of the Year–Bring Over The Money (Joshua and Katie Horvat)

There were also two championship records set during the 2020 championship program back on Oct. 3 at Running Aces.

Trotting mare Twilight Tinker became the first horse to win three consecutive seasonal championship races in the Minnesota program, and pacing gelding Stuckey Dote became the first horse to win four seasonal championship races overall.

The Minnesota Harness Racing community congratulates all of the 2020 divisional champions and runners-up, and wishes everyone the best of luck for a fun, safe and lucrative racing season in 2021.

The live racing season at Running Aces will get underway on Sunday (May 16) and run through Saturday (Sept. 18). Post time at Running Aces will be 6:05 p.m. every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday.

Back to Top

Share via