Iyq Yqr wins third straight at Batavia Downs

Batavia, NY — Despite a substantial step up in class, Iyq Yqr held to script and went gate to wire to win the $11,000 Open Handicap pace on Saturday night (Nov. 10) at Batavia Downs.

Iyq Yqr (Denny Bucceri) got away sharply off the gate, took the lead and rolled through the first two turns with no pressure at all. That came when Cool Like Fire (Billy Davis Jr.), who pulled at the three-eighths, drew alongside Iyq Yqr in front of the grandstand and tried to clear at that point. But Bucceri popped the plugs on Iyq Yqr and he responded to Cool Like Fire’s charge and put him away before the three-quarter pole.

Iyq Yqr handled the jump in class well, to score in the Batavia Downs feature. Paul White Photo.

As they headed into the final turn, Iyq Yqr opened up a clear advantage while trailing horses were bunching up for their stretch bids. But Bucceri was in the midst of a highly animated drive and Iyq Yqr responded to it down the lane to rebuff the late challenges of Cultural Paradise (Shawn McDonough) and In Runaway Bay (Kevin Cummings) to win in 1:57.

It was the third straight victory at Batavia Downs for Iyq Yqr ($13.20) who is owned by the Blindswitch Racing Stable, Anthony Nicometo, Good Friends Racing Stable and Santo Farina. Jeff Amann trains the winner.

In the $9,900 Open II co-feature, Go Collect N (Billy Davis Jr.) tripped out behind I’m So Handsome (Kevin Cummings) before pulling out by the three-quarters and taking a narrow lead at the head of the lane that he held to the wire where he won in 1:57.2.

Go Collect N ($4.40) scored his eighth win of the year for owner William Emmons who has now deposited $85,501 this year on his behalf.

Denny Bucceri led all drivers on Saturday scoring a Grand Slam on Saturday night. Besides winning the feature with Iyq Yqr, “The Oakfield Flash” Bucceri also won with R U Machin Me (1:57.1, $15.00), Michael’s Victory (1:58.1, $3.60) and Ugly Betty (1:59.4, $38.60).

Live racing resumes at Batavia Downs on Wednesday (Nov. 14) with post time for the first race at 5 p.m.

Back to Top

Share via