SOA of New York/Yonkers Raceway John R. Brennan Scholarship award winners named

Yonkers, NY — Alexandra Glasser, Kristina Verruso and McKenzie Sowers won the 2022 SOA of New York/Yonkers Raceway John R. Brennan Scholarship awards.

Sandra Kaufman, Chairman of the SOA of New York John R. Brennan Scholarship Committee has announced that Alexandra Glasser is the first place winner of the 2022 Scholarship award in the amount of $10,000. Kristina Verruso is the second place winner in the amount of $5,000 and McKenzie Sowers is the third place winner in the amount of $3,000.

Joseph Faraldo, President of the SOA of NY, commented that this year’s award winners are the recipients of a scholarship named after a longtime good friend, horse trainer and SOA of NY field representative, John R. Brennan.

Alexandra Glasser is currently attending Northeastern University in Boston, Mass., pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Business Management and Organizational Behavior. Her father, David, has been an amateur driver since 1982, owned racehorses since 1983 and trained horses in 2014 and 2015.

Kristina Verruso is currently attending CUNY Queens College in Queens, N.Y., pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nutrition and Exercise with a minor in Health Sciences. Her father, Anthony, has owned racehorses since 1993, been an amateur driver since 1999 and trained horses from 2002-2015.

McKenzie Sowers is currently attending the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, New Brunswick, pursuing a Bachelor of Nursing. Her father, Phillip “Bo” Sowers, started driving horses in 1989 and has trained and owned racehorses since 1991.

The annual SOA/Yonkers Raceway John R. Brennan scholarships are awarded to SOA members, members of their immediate families, covered individuals (backstretch personnel) or a member of their immediate families for study beyond the high school level. The recipient is chosen based on merit and financial need. The applicants were judged first by an independent third party to produce the top five candidates. Then the Committee selected the top three winners from the five finalists. Personal information from all the candidates was redacted when presented to the independent party and the Committee to assure a blind judging process.

Back to Top

Share via