MHHA Awards Banquet celebrates 2022 award winners

Lansing, MI – The Michigan Harness Horsemen’s Association celebrated the achievements of standardbred horsemen, women and horses during the 2022 racing season and honored the Michigan Harness Racing Hall of Fame inductees during Saturday’s (Jan. 21) 2023 annual banquet and awards ceremony at Crystal Gardens in Howell, MI.

Among those celebrated during the action-packed banquet, the 2022 Michigan Breeders Futurity and Michigan State Champion horses were given awards for their respective divisions.

Appreciation awards were given to Northville Downs’ track announcer Ken Terpenning for all he’s accomplished in his first year on the job, including his efforts to increase Michigan racing’s presence in the media and on social media; Julie DeMull, Michigan colt stakes’ clerk and multi-jurisdiction clerk who has dedicated her services for nearly 30 years; Sue DeGraw, Michigan fair judge, for her tireless work providing her stewardship to the fair racing program in the state while influencing others to pursue positions as racing officials; and Robin Bellor, Michigan fair judge, for her decades of commitment to the Michigan racing scene.

Breeder of the Year Emanuel Mullett was honored as the breeder of Michigan’s State Champion 3-year-old filly trotter Tell Me Your Dream (Winky’s Pine) who had five victories in 2022 in 14 starts while earning $91,268 for trainer Timothy Roach.

Caretakers of the Year were named Saturday. Carlee Evans and Katie Toska, two young ladies who dedicate all of their time to the care and training of their own Standardbreds, as well as those of their families and other trainers when needed.

Kathy Todd was named Owner of the Year as she owned two of Michigan’s State Champion Standardbreds Cody’s Deal who equaled a track record at Northville Downs in 2022, and Arizona Griz who earned over $110,000 in purse earnings in 2022.

Other award winners were as follows: Service Awards to: Jim Szabo, Jerry Mihelich, Beth Randall, and Ed Embach; Rising Star Award: Winter Asher-Stalbaum; Trainer of the Year: Gerald Malady; Driver of the Year: Marc St. Louis, Jr.; Aged Trotter of the Year: Enchanted Mission; Aged Pacer of the Year: Lying in Cash; Headliners of the Year: Lying in Cash and Catch Me Conrad; Lifetime Achievement Awards: Gene Miller, Richard Niccum and Judy Roegner; Hall of Fame Persons inductees: James Michael Mayes, Pam Loomis, DVM, Frank Marotta, Jr, DVM, and Elpidio Bernardi, Jr; Hall of Fame Horses inductees: Night Pro and Manhardt and Dan Rathka Memorial Award (Horseman of the Year): Ron Merritt.

Back to Top

Share via