USTA annual meeting kicks off with Marketing and Communications Committee

Columbus, OH — The 2023 U.S. Trotting Association’s Board of Directors annual meeting kicked off on Friday (March 10) with the Marketing and Communications Committee presentation led by Marketing and Communications Committee co-chairpersons Jim Miller and Ashley Tetrick as well as USTA staff members Dan Leary, Wendy Ross and Kyle Creditt.

Co-chairperson Jim Miller addresses the committee. USTA/Mark Hall photo.

The first item on the agenda was a recap of the coverage and metrics during 2022 on the USTA’s seven social media platforms, Facebook (ustrotting and HarnessRacingFanZone), Twitter (ustrotting and HarnessRacingFanZone), Instagram (HarnessRacingFanZone), YouTube (ustrotting) and the newest platform, TikTok (, which was launched in late July 2022.

Video highlights demonstrated the team’s emphasis on immediacy, targeting new audiences, focus on life after racing, use of technology, and increased utilization of social media graphics. The team reported on the significant increases in impressions, engagements, video views, and audience growth across all platforms with a significant milestone achievement of 893,000 views on Facebook of a single Bulldog Hanover video.

At the conclusion of the presentation, Miller made a motion to make a recommendation to the Finance Committee to increase the social media marketing budget that was passed unanimously by the committee.

Next on the agenda was a discussion led by Miller of the 14 broadcast funding requests made to the USTA from racetracks, horsemen’s associations and internet media entities.

The requests involved coverage on national broadcast media (Fox Sports), local broadcast media (CBS local), livestream broadcasters and podcasters.

Miller made a motion to approve his recommendation to the finance committee of providing funding with differing amounts for the 14 applicants with some additional funds to be allocated for potential, additional requests later in the year. The committee unanimously approved it.

The final item on the agenda was a presentation of a website project that the USTA is working on in conjunction with the Electronic Media Committee, which is co-chaired by Mark Loewe and Ashley Tetrick with members Chris Antonacci, Chris McErlean, Jim Miller, Seth Rosenfeld, Jason Settlemoir, Jim Simpson, and Gabe Wand.

The USTA annual meeting continues on Saturday (March 11) with the Board of Directors opening general session, the annual Recognition Luncheon, and the Racing, and Registration Committee meetings.

Back to Top

Share via