KF St Patrick named Ohio Horse of the Year

by Paul Ramlow, USTA Internet News Editor

Columbus, OH — Henry Kauffman and Michael Medors’ KF St Patrick received the 2007 Ohio Horse of the Year Award at the Ohio Harness Horsemen/United States Trotting Association District 1 banquet, which was held on Saturday night, Jan. 19, in Dublin, Ohio.

USTA/Ed Keys photo

KF St Patrick was named 2007 Ohio Horse of the Year.

The 3-year-old Nobleland Sam colt had an outstanding 2007 season, posting 12 victories in 20 starts and earning $174,835. He set his lifetime mark of 1:51f in capturing his Ohio State Fair Stakes division on Aug. 4 at Scioto Downs. KF St Patrick also won the Ohio Sires Stakes Final and a division of the Ohio Breeders Championship, making him one of three Standardreds to capture the Buckeye State Triple Crown in 2007 (the 2-year-old pacing colt Hello Yankie and 3-year-old filly trotter B V’s Sister were the others). KF St Patrick was also honored as Ohio’s 3-Year-Old Pacing Colt of the Year.

Other divisional winners in Ohio for 2007 were: Hello Yankie – 2-year-old colt pacer; Kay’s Yankee Lou – 2-year-old filly pacer; Sunland Dakota – 2-year-old colt trotter; Carly’s Crown – 2-year-old filly trotter; Osborne’s Gypsy – 3-year-old filly pacer; Trottin Troy – 3-year-old colt trotter; B V’s Sister – 3-year-old filly trotter; Psilvuheartbreaker – older pacer; and Buck I St Pat – older trotter.

Robert O’Donnell was introduced as the 34th inductee into the Ohio Harness Racing Hall of Fame. O’Donnell, 83, owned and operated Hobby Horse Farm, one of Ohio’s top breeding and training farms. He is a past president and director of the Ohio Harness Horsemen’s Association, and served for 12 years on the USTA board of directors. O’Donnell’s son, Kelly, is one of the top trainers in the sport.

Eddie Kirk became the 11th recipient of the Dr. John P. Stevens Humanitarian Award, presented annually by the Ohio Harness Horsemen’s Association (OHHA) to “an individual involved with the Standardbred industry who exhibits exceptional compassion and dedicated service to mankind.”

The OHHA also presented Matt Kakaley with the OHHA Youth Award, and the Richard S. Brandt “Extra Effort Award” went to the Darke County Harness Horsemen’s Association.

The Ohio chapter of the U.S. Harness Writers Association presented its annual awards, which included: Lew Williams, elected into the Immortal Hall of Fame; Courageous Lady, elected into the Standardbred Hall of Fame; Brad Wallace, winner of the Rambling Willie Award for the Ohioan who has done the most for harness racing over the past two decades; Jim Arledge, Jr., recipient of the Winner’s Circle Award for the Ohioan who has achieved outstanding accomplishments in the past year; and Matt Kakaley, who received the Peter Haughton Memorial Award as the young Ohioan who is an “up-and-coming” star among harness horsemen.

Back to Top

Share via