Race Track Industry Program announces award winners

Tucson, AZ — The University of Arizona Race Track Industry Program announced its annual award winners during the 45th Annual Global Symposium on Racing awards luncheon held Tuesday (Dec. 4).

The 2018 Clay Puett Award was awarded to longtime Director and CEO of Del Mar Thoroughbred Club, Joe Harper, for his outstanding contributions to the racing industry.

The 2018 John K. Goodman Alumni Award was awarded to Peggy Hendershot, NTRA’s Senior Vice President of Legislative Affairs, for being one of RTIP’s many distinguished alumni who have made an outstanding contribution to the industry.

The third, RTIP’s 2018 Distinguished Student Award, was given to the RTIP student who the faculty feels best embodies the qualities and performance that represent the goal of bridging education with opportunity. This year’s recipient was Zachary Taylor. The Race for Education also awarded Zachary Taylor the 2018 XpressBet Scholarship.

The Turf Publicists of America (TPA) announced Alexander Sausville as the winner of their 2018 TPA Scholarship. This scholarship is given to a RTIP student with a strong record of academic achievement and an interest in journalism or publicity.

For the list of current and former RTIP award winners, please visit https://ua-rtip.org/.

Back to Top

Share via